Valerie Twombly – This week’s author profile

Who is Valerie Twombly?

Here is what Valerie had to say about her experience as a writer.

I started writing about a year ago. It’s now become an obsession. I work full-time and write in my spare time.

I love paranormal. I always had a fascination with vampires. Grew up watching Dark Shadows, the show scared the crap out of me, LOL.

I live in Northern IL with hubby and two beautiful German Shepherds. I’m an avid reader.

Take a few moments to get to know Valerie Twombly…

  • What inspired you to become an author?

The voices in my head lol, and my husband. His comment to me one day was. “You read so many books, why don’t you try writing your own?” I thought about it and figured what do I have to lose.

  • What was the hardest part about writing this novel?

Keeping the story short. Tess and Crone surprised me with their chemistry. I never expected it. I found myself wanting to keep writing but I had to cut them off, for now *winks*. I’m in the middle of a novel (not related to Demon Slayer) that I’m itching to finish.

  • Writing is hard where do you find support to keep going when things get tough?

After much searching I found a wonderful group of women. Many already published, and some looking to publish. They critique my work, tell me where I’m lacking, and where I’m flourishing. I don’t think without them I would be where I am today. They seem to know when I need a mental boost.

  • What piece of advice would you give a new author?

Don’t give up. If you think you can’t do it then think again. I never thought I could write, but here I am and people actually say I’m pretty good.

Take a few classes, visit your favorite author’s website. Many have a section just for aspiring writers. Most important, write every day, even just a few paragraphs. It really does help get the creative juices flowing. Find a group of other writers that can support you and help you learn the craft.

  • What do you see as your next project and when can we expect it? 

I am nearing completion of book one in a series called Immortal Guardians, Eternal Flame. My goal is to submit to publishers in June of this year, so hopefully you will see it by fall 2013.

  • If you could have a super power, which one would you want?

Oh, I want to be able to flash from one location to another. Can you imagine? No traffic or long plane rides. I could go anywhere.

__________________________________________________________________-

About Demon Slayer: 

Tess, the daughter of a Goddess and a Demon, was raised by her vindictive grandfather to be a Demon Slayer. Her next assignment? Kill her father.

Crone promised his friends long ago that he would help their daughter. That day has come, but Tess is more than he bargained for.

valerie3

A short excerpt for Demon Slayer:

“You should stop being so hard on yourself,” a commanding voice said from behind.

Tess jumped out of the chair, sending it skidding across the kitchen floor. “Who the hell are you and how did you get in?” She eyed the stranger through slits while fondling her short swords. The only gift grandfather had ever given her, they made short order of removing the head of a demon.

The man snorted. “Do you really think to kill your father with those?” He raised an eyebrow indicating the swords she held in her hands.

Tess didn’t respond, instead admired her intruder; he was all kinds of yummy. A stray lock of raven hair escaped from his braid and caressed his bronze cheek. Pools of sapphire swirled in almond-shaped eyes, and several days of dark growth covered his jaw. He looked of danger and sex all rolled into one badass package. The combination set her blood to boiling.

“You didn’t answer my question,” she growled. Her eyes traveled down the black T-shirt he wore. Pfft, he might as well be naked. It clung to him like a second skin giving her a clear view of lean, hard muscles. She licked her lips. Gods, what it would feel like to be his T-shirt. She was positive if he turned around his ass would be considered a lethal weapon in those jeans.

The intruder leaned back against the wall. Arms crossed over his chest, the motion caused his biceps to bulge and her to swallow hard. He gave her a leveled look. “I am Crone, and I popped in,” he said flashing a devious smile.

Buy the book!

Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/Demon-Slayer-ebook/dp/B00BO83RT8/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1362960093&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=deon+slayer

Follow Valerie Twombly on:

Leave a Reply

