Love computer games? Shades of Sanity! Check it out!

Many of you may not know that I’m an avid computer gamer.  Well, I once was, long before children and writing.  World of Warcraft, 7th Guest, Heroes of Might and Magic, Everquest, Myst, Phantasmagoria, Gabriel Knight, Sanitarium…  All the classics.

On recent trips to Best Buy, while perusing the game section with my husband, Steven, I found myself longing for something nostalgic.  The excellent graphics of today’s games enhance the experience, but I long those interactive stories, the puzzles, and the plot lines that make me play well past my bedtime. They are hard to come by these days with the popularity of first-person shooters.  I am a writer after all, so a great story is essential.

You can imagine my surprise when I found out my old friends, Keith Leonard and Rob Seres were working on a new project.  I hadn’t seen them in years.  Both worked for DreamForge Intertainment, along with my late-husband Jay in the late 90s, and even though I was not fortunate enough to be an employee at Dreamforge (the most awesomest company ever), I was often a fixture at D&D sessions with Jay and while he worked late and on weekends to meet deadlines.

Dreamforge Intertainment was the creator of Sanitarium, an award winning, psychological horror game that broke new ground in the game industry.

Sanitarium_Coverart

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanitarium_(video_game)

When Keith and Rob invited me to demo the new game, I almost squealed.  I’m not much of a squealer… so that’s pretty excited. 

And when I finally sat down in front of the 24+ inch dual monitor set up, I was not disappointed   The 3D engine designed by these two is beyond impressive, and the graphics and feel of the game drew me in immediately.  I’m a sucker for a good interactive story and the intricacy of the storyline did not disappoint. The realistic gothic horror setting was a plus!  You know me and my love of the paranormal. 

Instead of boring you with written details, Rob and Keith were kind enough to share some art and screen shots of the game so that I can once again tease my readers.  I have a bad habit of doing that. 🙂

You can read more about the game on their website.

Sword and Spirit Software  – http://www.swordandspiritsoftware.com/

If you like what you see, and love games like these, why not support their Kickstarter.  I know you’ll want to play it too.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1409430337/shades-of-sanity-psychological-horror-game

If the demo was so good, I can’t wait to see the rest!

Shades of SanityScreenShot354OtherWorldSoS_atticConceptSoS_courtyardConceptsos_dollssos_statues_structuressos_vegitationt

 

5 thoughts on “Love computer games? Shades of Sanity! Check it out!

  1. This is brilliant. U r so right too re the games. I used to love playing Dizzy in Magicland. It took like an hour to load on a Commdore and the graphics were terrible but the puzzle solving kept my glued.

Leave a Reply

