Spreading a Little Christmas Spirit – Aubrey Wynne Featured Author

I am so honored to have Aubrey Wynne with me today.  I had the pleasure of reading her story last evening and couldn’t wait to tell you about it.

Her debut story, Merry Christmas, Henry is a skillfully told and beautiful tale.  The short story is touching and has all the elements of a holiday piece you’ll return to year after year.  Aubrey also makes it very hard to believe that this her first published work.

And even though this not a paranormal piece exactly, the amount of mysticism will satisfy most paranormal readers and non-paranormal readers alike.

Grab your hot chocolate, curl up by the fire and indulge.  This piece is five heart-warming stars.

MerryXmasHenry2 (1)

Merry Christmas, Henry

Henry, a shy and talented artist, moonlights as a security guard at a museum and loses his heart to a beautiful, melancholy woman in a painting. As his obsession grows, he finds a kindred soul who helps him in his search for happiness. On Christmas Eve, Henry dares to take a chance on love and fulfill his dream.

Aubreywynne

About the Author

Aubrey Wynne resides in the Midwest with her husband, dogs, horses, mule and barn cats. She is an elementary teacher by trade, champion of children and animals by conscience, and author by night. Obsessions include history, travel, trail riding and all things Christmas. She is a proud member of the Coffee Talk Writers.

  • What inspired you to write your current novel?

Christmas has been my favorite holiday since childhood I believe magic happens during this season. Whether it’s the unexplained miracle or unexpected act of kindness, Christmas brings out the best in people. My sister and I buy a holiday anthology every year and faithfully watch all the sappy movies we can in the month of December.

  • What inspired you to become an author?

Writing is in my blood. My mother is a journalist and worked for a newspaper for over thirty years. I wrote my first piece for a writing contest in grade school. It was about one of my heroes, my grandfather. The essay went to state and I took third place.

  • Did you use a critique partner or group to help with revisions and editing?

I joined Scribophile, a writing community, two years ago which provided me with invaluable advice and critiques. I made some great friends that helped me through times of self-doubt and despair as an author. I also met a group of women who have been my support and mentors. The Coffee Talk Writers are a dozen talented and generous women helping each other professionally and emotionally. I didn’t know what a social media platform was until they took me under their wing. I highly recommend finding a support group with like-minded authors.

  • What is your favorite quote?

“The road to hell is paved with works in progress.” Phillip Roth

  • What do you see as your next project and when can we expect it?

I am currently working on a novella series with the Four Musketeers. Magnificent Valor begins with the story of Athos. I hope to have it out to publishers this winter and in print by the summer of 2014.

  • What is the strangest thing currently housed in your refrigerator?

Batteries. My dad always told me it kept them fresh. My husband thinks I’m nuts. But a girl always listens to her father.

  • If you had a time machine, what time period would you travel to?

That’s a tough one. I love 18th century and earlier. My first love is the medieval time period. But I’d have to be allowed to bring a backpack of certain luxuries. Antibiotics, toothpaste, toothbrush and Zantac are necessities.

  • Describe yourself in three words.

Romance, horses, travel.

Hook up with Aubrey

Excerpt:

“Hey, Henry, you want a little overtime?” the supervisor had asked. “Charlie called in sick and I could use an extra hand. Another rich collector remembered us in his will. We’ve got a pricey piece arriving in about an hour and I’d feel better with some extra security.”

Henry tried to wipe the smile off his face. Five years in the city and he still felt like a country bumpkin. “Sure.”

“The paper says a Rubens. Flemish, wasn’t he? But it’s a small one.”

Henry gave a whistle. “Impressive.”

“There’s a companion painting with it, artist unknown. We’ll have to find a spot for it in appreciation for the collector’s piece.”

An hour later, Henry held a priceless painting in his hands. God, he loved this job.

“The family probably figured they wouldn’t get any money out of the other one. But this one sure is a beauty,” the supervisor said as he reached for the Rubens.

“Yes, indeed,” Henry replied, as his eyes landed on the second painting. “Striking.”

Henry’s boss laughed. “I’m talking about this one, Bud. The little one is worth the big bucks!” His boss headed toward the office to start the paperwork on the new museum pieces.

“Yes, of course,” he murmured, but his attention remained focused on the woman in the larger painting.

She sat on the edge of a rocky cliff, her face slightly turned as if looking over the edge. Her legs were out to the side, knees bent, a long, olive-colored skirt spread around her haphazardly as if blown by the wind. The stormy ocean breakers rushed between jagged rocks then turned into frothy waves that lapped at the sand. The details in the picture were crisp and stark, the color was minimal—just the woman on a cliff with the turbulent water below. But the overall effect created a hauntingly beautiful scene.

He felt her distress, her sorrow. His fingers itched to reach out and pull her from the painting and hold her, soothe her, give her comfort. Henry knew that if she could turn and face him, he would be looking at the most exquisite creature he’d ever seen. His hand shook as he reached out to touch the canvas.

“Are you okay, Henry?”

Henry drew his hand back quickly as if he’d been caught in the act of—of what? Touching a frame? Good lord, he must be tired.

“What? Oh, yeah, I just need some sleep. ” As Henry turned to leave, he took one last look at the woman who had just stolen his heart. Fate had given him a precious gift. He whistled “Angels We Have Heard on High” all the way home.

Buy Links:

#romance #Christmas #aubreywynne #Henry #Rebecca

2 thoughts on “Spreading a Little Christmas Spirit – Aubrey Wynne Featured Author

  1. Aubrey, this sounds fabulous. Will be in touch re having you over. I am not just putting it ion my to read list, I am needing Christmas books at my blog! best of luck with this. You so deserve it.

  2. What a lovely post. What a great way to start the holidays – on the marvelous Shehanne Moore’s website. I’m thrilled. Someone wipe this silly grin off my face. And congratulations to Renea. Excellent story for both historical romance and paranormal fans.

Leave a Reply

